May 28

onohara_may28“Your prize is a free trip to anywhere in the US!” 「賞品はアメリカ合衆国の好きなところへの無料旅行です!」
“Great! I want to go to Hawaii!” 「やった!ハワイに行きたい!」
“Oh, sorry, it’s anywhere in the continental United States.” 「あ、ごめん、アメリカ合衆国本土でした。」

USAには50州がありますが、そのうちの48州だけが陸続きになっています。ハワイ州は太平洋の中の島々です。他の49州は同じ大陸にあるからcontinental United Statesと言います。そしてアラスカ州は同じ大陸にあるのに、カナダの向こう側にあります!ハワイとアラスカを除く48州は「つながっている」という意味でcontiguous United Statesと呼ばれています。

The USA has 50 states, but only 48 of them are connected to each other. Hawaii is a group of small islands far away in the Pacific Ocean. The other 49 states are all on the same continent, so they’re called “the continental United States”. And although Alaska is on the same continent as the rest of the US, it’s separated from the other states by Canada! The 48 states other than Hawaii and Alaska are called “the contiguous” United States.

Leave a Reply

preload preload preload

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: